The Dutch Representation is a so-called outpost of the Netherlands and has three offices. The head office in Willemstad, Curaçao (VNW), the office in Oranjestad, Aruba (VNO), and the office in Philipsburg, St. Maarten (VNP). The three offices represent and promote the interests of the country of the Netherlands in Aruba, Curaçao and St. Maarten.

By being continuously abreast of local developments and having knowledge of the local context, the Dutch Representation is able to provide the Dutch government with high-quality advice on all matters relating to the relationship with the Netherlands. They function as a discussion partner for the local government, the Dutch government and organisations. The Representation also performs consular duties, comparable to the function of an embassy.